Eulogy for a Brown Angel : A Mystery Novel

Eulogy for a Brown Angel : A Mystery Novel

  • Author: Corpi, Lucha
  • Publisher: Arte Público Press
  • ISBN: 9781558853560
  • eISBN Pdf: 9781518501661
  • Place of publication:  Houston , United States
  • Year of publication: 2017
  • Pages: 189

Eulogy for a Brown Angel began a new chapter in the mystery genre with the creation of the first Chicana detective in American literature. Now available for the first time in paperback, readers can discover, or rediscover, Lucha Corpi’s dynamic detective Gloria Damasco in the classic novel that started it all.

A Chicano Civil Rights March has been disrupted by the Los Angeles police, resulting in the gruesome death of a prominent reporter. The tear gas has barely settled when a small, defiled body is left on a street in Los Angeles. A feisty political activist finds the murdered child and begins an investigation that will lead her on a trail of international conspiracy and bloody vengeance. Before long, two other people are dead, and Gloria is determined to piece the mystery together, no matter how long the search may last.

Adding to the mystery is Gloria Damasco’s dark gift, a puzzling extra-sensory awareness that forces her to confront situations in which solutions demand more than reason and logic. Eulogy for a Brown Angel is a fast-paced and suspenseful novel, packed with an assortment of interesting characters. A member of the international writers’ circle Sisters in Crime, Lucha Corpi brings the intrigue to a hard-hitting conclusion in the picturesque Wine Country of Northern California.

  • Cover
  • Title page
  • Copyright page
  • Prelude
  • 1970 Part one
    • One City of Angels
    • Two Insidious Disease
    • Three Optical Illusions
    • Four A Mother's Pool of Tears
    • Five Shadows Behind the Altar
    • Six The Dark Gifts
    • Seven The Trap Door
    • Eight Mires and Butterflies
    • Nine Mires and Mirrors
    • Ten High Noon in Hell
    • Eleven In the Eye of Eyes
    • Twelve Bees and Burials
    • Thirteen Familia de Santos/Family of Woman
    • Fourteen The Dreams of the Dead
    • Fifteen Voices and Visions
    • Sixteen The Dead Also Whisper
    • Seventeen Vineyards and Graveyards
  • 1988 Part two
    • Eighteen Before the Light
    • Nineteen Retrospect of Darkness
    • Twenty Windswept Heights/Cloudless Views
    • Twenty-one Dark Swan/Light Swan
    • Twenty-two Prelude to a Showdown
    • Twenty-three Mothers, Furies and Fools
    • Twenty-four Fantasies for Tolerable Tomorrows
    • Twenty-five A Murderer's Treasure Box


By subscribing, you accept our Privacy Policy